Waves roll and Time marches…

Life and all it’s emotion are like waves that come and go, seemingly uncaring for the impact it has on the shores of my life. Those waves, although sometimes beautiful in their strength, are occasionally too overwhelming to stand; even standing, feet firmly planted in the sand, lends itself to my sinking as the water rushes so steadily around me.

IMG_2261-1.PNG

There are moments – seasons of breathtakingly beautifully calm seas – but appreciation of those calm seas are with the memory – or the foresight – of rougher, overwhelmingly powerful waters that are part of nature’s way!

There is beauty and purpose in the calm waters… but there is also purpose in the mighty rushing waves. I’ve stood along the Shore, watching wave after wave roll in. I’ve watched the power of its churning – stirring up what’s been lying on the ocean floor. There is purpose in the waves. There is change brought by it’s power. And there is strength in its wake.

IMG_2256.PNG

And time, just like the waves, is an unstoppable force – bringing change. Purpose. Strength. Waves roll and time marches – and there’s nothing to do but roll and march with them.

February 10…
March 10…
April 10…
May 10…
June 10…
July 10….
August 10…..
6 months of time marching.
6 months of waves coming in and going out. There’ve been high tides and low tides, so many unstoppable moments. Beautifully calm waters and some very powerfully rough waves!

This week is full of those rougher, overwhelmingly powerful waters!

For 7 years, I’ve managed an annual event, the Global Leadership Summit. It’s one of those events that amazes me and yet every ounce of energy – physical, emotional, spiritual, mental, etc… get spent – to the point of exhaustion… and in normal circumstances it’s much, but this year, it’s much more. Sunday, as I thought about and prepped for the week, I realized how very different this year will be……. for me!

Yes, it’s the same event…. with its long days of preparation. Lots of dotting i’s and crossing t’s. It’s checking in with my four amazing Event Managers – seeing them so brilliantly manage hundred’s of volunteers and watching over 1,400 guest attendees at our locations……

And yet my heart breaks for the one whose face I won’t see in the masses. The face who always sought me in the crushing crowd. Whose few words, in mere moments, brought more encouragement and lifted my exhausted spirit – to press on for the few more hours…….. my mom, and she loved the Summit…………

And so this week –

Tears will fall.
Waves of emotions will crash around me. My feet will feel like they’re being sucked into the sand —- but in the midst of it all, I will hold on to the memory of beautifully calm waters, ones that were before and the hope that once again they will come my way — if even only for a moment……. they will come!

IMG_2259-0.PNG

