35 Days, Nikki Lerner and Me…

So if you’re just jumping into my blog-stream now, here’s what’s going on. I’m just a few weeks away from my 35th birthday and instead of just planning a party or making big plans on what I could do for me, I thought I’d take time and share about some of the people in my world who have influenced me, to become the person I am today! Please know that not everyone in my life is written about and everyone I’ve come in contact with, has had influence on my life, but these are the 35 people……

Day NINETEEN: Nikki Lerner… Friend!

I can’t remember the first time I met this amazing lady but my guess is that it was at LCBC Church. I remember seeing this vibrant, Nikkicrazy-talented, huge personality, sincere, energetic woman – whose obvious love for people spills out in every conversation, hug and words shared.

We both have a love of singing and heart for worshiping our God – so perhaps that’s the foundational connection, but I’m thrilled that ours is a relationship that’s more than just singing or music.

Nikki and I don’t live in the same state – but I’ve found that’s not a requirement for friendship. I love that we can go months without talking and then meet for breakfast – which turns into 4hours of laughter, conversation, occasional tears and ultimately life-giving perspective! Sometime she “preaches”… (and I take notes that turn into many journal pages of reflection and application)… and I love that! She shares her heart, her emotions, her life-journey, her joys and tough moments. Her vulnerability is inspiring and I am incredibly thankful our paths have crossed and even though we don’t walk everyday side by side, when our paths run close for a moment I jump with both feet, to walk together for as long as I can, then hop back to my path and journey on until the next moment shared together!

Nikki, thank you for your friendship. For Nikki2the beauty and life you exude. For the love and passion – for heaven and others – that you so effortlessly demonstrate – in the times we’ve shared both on and off the stage! I am incredibly inspired watching your life, your love for Christ, and people around you! Thank you for taking time for me. You are a true gift from heaven, a treasure – that reflects the heart of heaven!

