35 Days, David Burge and Me…

Day 16 of my 35 Days, People and Me blog. As mentioned, my 35th birthday is just a few weeks away and instead of just planning a party or making big plans on what I could do for me, I thought I’d take time and share about some of the people in my world who have influenced me (through the good, the bad and sometimes ugly times), to become the woman I am today!

Day SIXTEEN: David Burge… coworker and friend!

David Burge.  DburgeAs I sat and thought about the people in my world that have impacted me, I was struck with how many are female names came to mind and it was only a few male, however you – Dave, were one of those people, who’s friendship has taught me much and someone I greatly appreciate as part of my life!

I don’t remember the first time we met you or how we ended up being friends – but I’m incredibly thankful we did! I so appreciate the opportunity we have to work together – even though it’s typically not on the same projects because we’re different departments, but am thrilled when we do.  It has been an honor to have you on the lead team of Catalyst and Leadership Summit the past few years. Your heart to serve, to do whatever it takes is incredibly inspiring! I’ve loved being an honorary StudentMin “team” person on retreats and being able to support you (and Kara) when I pop by!

Dave, thank you for your honesty, your vulnerability, your willingness to step in a serve, to love people, to lead people, to show compassion and kindness. Thank you for your willingness to speak into systems, to challenge and encourage what is working and what could work better! Thank you for your our honest conversations and challenges over #lunchtimemadness with Kara. I’m thrilled to call you friend! I’m excited for all the God has for you and know that I’ll be standing, cheering you all the way.

