35 Days, Sonja Waltman and Me…

Day 15 of my 35 Days, People and Me blog. As mentioned, my 35th birthday is just a few weeks away and instead of just planning a party or making big plans on what I could do for me, I thought I’d take time and share about some of the people in my world who have influenced me (through the good, the bad and sometimes ugly times), to become the woman I am today!

Day FIFTEEN: Sonja Waltman… coworker and friend!

Occasionally someone crosses your path and you’re not exactly sure how they will impact you.  Perhaps it’s just someone who smiles and keeps on walking.  Sometimes it’s more, an occasional lunch or quick chat, but then there are those people who start one way and move quickly to a person who brings such value to your world.

Sonja has been on staff at LCBC for several years and I’ve known who she was, but our interactions were those as mentioned previously… the passing the hall, or a quick hello, the occasional stopping by my desk to ask how I was, but it was more recently that I realized that she’s not just an acquaintance. I’m not sure if it was an international “switch” or if it just happened, but whatever the reason, I’m so incredibly thankful!

We’ve had opportunity to have lunch in the past few months and little did I know that would spark ongoing conversations and developing friendship.  I’ve loved seeing Sonja move into an incredibly massive position overseeing all LCBC kidMinistry departments across 6 locations, and  I know those kinds of roles can be daunting at times and yet I have seen her impact and influence our organization more broadly than I think even she realizes!  I remember sitting chatting with her and conveying my appreciation for her style of leadership recently, but I don’t know if you can ever hear that enough!  Sonja’s leadership is strong and yet very much team-orientated and that everyone has a key role to play, that everything does not land solely to her and that honestly, I’d follow her any day! In the past 34 years, I’ve seen women in leadership positions that has left me totally turned off — seeing someone like Sonja, functioning very much in her gifts is amazingly beautiful!

  • Sonja – thank you for all that you bring to LCBC. You are an incredible asset to our organization but even more than that, to my life! Your text messages and stop-by’s have meant the world to me and I am excited to see how our friendship develops!  Thank you for taking time in your incredibly full life to be rays of sunshine in my world!  Thankful for you —
1 thought on “35 Days, Sonja Waltman and Me…”

  1. What a wonderful idea to celebrate the anniversary of your birth. It’s a good reminder that we all should be honoring the relationships in our life.

Comments are closed.