35 Days, David Ashcraft and Me…

So if you’re just jumping into my blog stream now, here’s what’s going on.  So I’m just a few weeks away from my 35th birthday and instead of just planning a party or making big plans on what I could do for me, I thought I’d take time and share about some of the people in my world who have influenced me, to become the person I am today!  Please know that not everyone in my life is written about and everyone I’ve come in contact with, has had influence on my life, but these are the 35 people……

Day TWELVE: David Ashcraft… Boss and leader-extraordinaire!

From the moment I first attended an LCBC Church gathering, March 2005, I knew I wanted to be part of this organization and to support what God was doing in and around LCBC. The first week I was there, I was blown away by the level of excellence and the attention to detail, not only to the elements of each gathering, but from the front door to the exit. I was blown away by the similarity of the “mega-church” I had just had 3 years experience with, and I had fallen in love with. LCBC Church and Hillsong Church was (and continues to be) about connecting people far from God and seeing their lives changed by Christ.

I wrote yesterday about working for John Zeswitz, my “first boss” at LCBC, and I wouldn’t trade him in for anything, but I knew from the moment I was hired on staff, that I wanted to work and support David Ashcraft. I know my life is not and will not be about speaking, and reaching 15,000+ people every week (or probably really any time), but my behind davidashcraftthe scenes role of supporting and assisting this man, whose life and mission has impacted so many, was and has become very defining for me. I had opportunity for 2 years to support certain tasks/projects for David and had interaction with him, but felt that I could do more – but waited for His timing!  I mentioned in my writings about JohnZ yesterday, that there was a job offer that he had to extend to me, and that new job position, was this job; Executive Assistant to the Senior Pastor! I had so wanted this but didn’t know how that would ever happen and then it did. On one hand I knew I had in me all that I needed to do the job but at the same time, I was nervous, out of my mind because of what that role truly was about.

In all honesty, I have been blown away by the moments I’ve been a part of here at LCBC, which are directly related to the position I hold. I am constantly humbled and honored to serve those that I do, day in and day out!! I love what I do! I pray that my presence in this corner of the office is as beneficial to all those around me, as much as I love, most every moment, of my days there.

David – it’s been awesome to be on the front row and have the opportunity to see who you are and what you’re about. I admire the way you prioritize family, protect your time and find balance in the constant stream of meeting requests, offers and unending demands for your time. Your calm spirit, even when dealing with unknown challenges, has been so very telling of your character. Thank you for being a consistent, strong, central-focused man.  It is an honor and pleasure to serve and support you, Ruth and all that comes with that.

