35 Days, Kara Geib and Me…

So we’re at Day 5 into my 35 Days/People and Me Blog.  If you’re just joining the blog now, I decided that for my 35th birthday – which is just a few weeks away – instead of just planning a party or making big plans on what I could do for me, I’d take time and share about some of the people in my world who have influenced me (through the good, the bad and sometimes ugly times), to become the woman I am today!

Day FIVE: Kara Geib#myperson

IMG_1994Several months ago, I had the honor and the privilege to support one of my dear friends, Kara Campbell, in a very important day – the official start of a new chapter of her life, her wedding!  In my 34 years being on the planet, I’ve had the chance to stand with several dear friends in support of their step forward in relationships, but for whatever reason this one felt different.  Perhaps it was the more “serious” role of Maid of Honor or perhaps it’s just the relationship the Bride and I share, but it was an amazing day! As with any wedding, there were many details and things to do, emotions and places to be, but there were a few moments, that only Kara and I shared, that I will treasure forever!

Our friendship started a few years ago when she first IMG_0879started working at LCBC.  Our first lunch date, the first of many, was defining.  Kara’s vulnerability and honestly was breathtaking.  I was overwhelmed by her willingness to share her story and I think that’s when I “fell in love” with her!  I learned that day (and continue to see) that she lives her life fully.  She embraces all that life hands her.  She challenges. She questions.  She loves.  Her laugh is infectious and her spirit stunning! I am honored to do life with her, not only that amazing November 3rd, but days before and days to come!

I am not a speech-maker and standing in front of the 130 guests trying to brag on my friend, was a bit daunting. However, having a moment to honor Kara, for the woman that she is and to support what the future holds for her, and her husband was so worth it.  I said it that day and I will say it again:

Kara (and Jeremy) –

To a journey that’s officially begun today. And to a story who’s beauty (in the good and then bad times) will impact those who have the honor of hearing it’s tale!  Much love to you both!!

