Here’s to a new year…

IMG_8034

As each year ends (and another begins), I am always amazed as I reflect on all that was accomplished. All the things that happened and brought  change to my world. The things that remained the same.  The amazing opportunities for growth and life.  The moments that passed, containing missed opportunities and things that will never be again. The conversations and challenges.  The friendship and relationships that started, got strengthen and ones that came to the seasons end. The encouragement. The joys and wins. The tough moments that I would never want to relive…

2012 was filled with many of those moments!  There were things that happened both personally, professionally, that surprised me, yes – the planner and detailed person that I am! I experienced some of the highest highs and on the flipside, some of the most difficult times right alongside them.

The older I get, the more I realize that the level of intentionality with which I live my life, that being in each moment of each day, the more I find out about myself.  The things I can control and influence as well as the things outside my realm to impact.  2012 has been a year of increased awareness of myself — probably more so than any other year of my life!  I am so incredibly grateful for the challenges, for the good times – and I love that I’m learning to appreciate the PROCESS not just the end result (although there are times when all I WANT is the end result…)!

I was recently in a conversation with a friend who challenged me to come up with a word, ONE word to be the theme, the encouragement, the thing that describes my intentionality in living this coming year, that thing I could hold onto in the coming days, during the good and the not so good…

I believe (personally) that 2013 holds so much possibility.  There will be moments of incredible joy, happiness, goodness and amazing things that even I can not imagine… but along with that – think there will be times of challenge, growth, moments of intensity and possible pain.  I haven’t yet decided what my word will be but have an inkling it will be something to do with bravery, courage, hope and expectancy.

I tweeted in the early morning hours of January 1st

And so it begins… here’s to the next 12 months!  #deepbreath #anticipate #expect #dream #hope

Another friend posted on her facebook wall the following…

Here’s to a year of unrelenting bravery!

As I think about the coming months, I am excited, expectant, hopeful but in the same breath, wonder if this year will require “unrelenting bravery” and valiant courage?  What challenges will I face personally?  What challenges, will I face along with my family or side by side with friends? What things will I allow to affect my emotions, my faith, my world (both good and negative)?  What choices will I make to take me further on the journey, further in the process of my life? What decisions will I make that will stop or delay my progression?  And more than that, will I recognize those moments and reset the course?  Will I allow the pace in which I flow to control me or will I intentionally guide, direct and manage all that comes my way?

I am excited.

I am hopeful.

I am anticipating that God has something “up His sleeve” (a plan) not only for my life, but all those in my world! They are plans for good and not harm. (Jeremiah 29:11)

So what does this next hour, this next day, this week, month or year hold for me? What will I be handed to deal with, work out or live out… who knows, but I will embrace it with valiant courage and unrelenting bravery!

This is my command – be strong and courageous!  Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord you God is with you wherever you go!” Joshua 1:9

